• Path to PM
  • Posts
  • Job hopping changed my life | 🎁 Free Gift: PgM interview guide

Job hopping changed my life | 🎁 Free Gift: PgM interview guide

4 ways job-hopping benefitted my career

👋 Hey, it’s Jean!

In this post, I shared how I stayed at companies longer than I should’ve because I feared looking like a ‘job hopper’ or ‘too weak’.

But being a job hopper changed the course of my career (for the better).

4 ways job-hopping benefitted my career:

Higher Pay

I more than quadrupled my salary in 9 years.

When leaving jobs, I negotiated at least 20-40% raises. Check out my salary over the years here.

Glassdoor was my go-to for researching salary ranges.

Did you know that 80% of job hoppers saw salary increases in the past five years, with 20% experiencing $50K+ increases? Check out the article.

Better Opportunities

I left when things got stagnant - no new projects, limited support, or uninteresting work.

When interviewing, I made an intentional effort to find the right fit:

  • Autonomy to try new things (and fail forward)

  • Opportunity to wear different hats

  • Manage higher stakes projects

  • Exposure to senior leadership

This is why I left LinkedIn to return to a startup like Figma, where I have more exposure to higher-impact work and fast-track my growth.

Here’s my motto: if you’re not learning, you better be earning.

More Leverage

Each company I worked at became a valuable stepping stone, equipping me with:

  • The ability to thrive in ambiguity

  • A trove of interview stories to showcase my wins

  • A deep understanding of strengths and skills gaps

  • The confidence to connect and excel with anyone I work with.

Boost in Confidence

Each opportunity forced me to leave my comfort zone and create my luck.

Instead of chasing promotions, I chased new opportunities where I could learn, grow, and build the career I deserved (and wanted).

Remember, leaving a job that doesn't serve you isn't quitting – it's self-love.

PS Here’s the post where I shared the best way to prepare for Program Management interviews (after interviewing at places like Slack, Uber, and Cloudflare).

👋 Grab the free link guide. Enjoy!

Until next time,

Jean

PS I’m having the best time seeing my students transform in my 6-week PM Accelerator 🥹

If you want to land your next Program Manager role (and thrive as one), join the waitlist (the first one is filled!)

🔥 Reviews:

“I can’t believe It! I’m moving on to the next round with the VP of SW!”

“Amazing exercise and really building those job hunting muscles 😄

“I am feeling really empowered by your guidance and curriculum so far”

“Thank you for being so supportive and helping me zoom out with the long term vision 💙

Join the conversation

or to participate.