• Path to PM
  • Posts
  • 📍I used this resume to land my Senior PM role at Figma ( 🎉 Resume template winners inside)

📍I used this resume to land my Senior PM role at Figma ( 🎉 Resume template winners inside)

The only resume framework you'll ever need

I’ve had so many express to me how difficult crafting the right resume is.

I get it. I’ve been there.

Resumes need to demonstrate your skills and competence (not your potential). It’s a proof document for employers to choose why you are the best fit.

Let me share examples and tips on how you can translate your value effectively.

Bad - Good - Great Resume Bullets

 ❌ Managed multiple projects at work.

  • Too General: Does not specify scope or type of projects.

  • Lacks Quantification: No numbers to highlight impact or scale.

  • Missing Achievements: Does not convey how the work benefited the company. What’s the ‘so what’?

🟡 Led a team of 10 to deliver three major software updates, resulting in a 15% increase in customer satisfaction.

  • Clarifies Team Size: Indicates leadership over a moderate-sized team.

  • Provides Metrics: Shows a measurable outcome of the work.

  • Demonstrates Leadership: Suggests the ability to guide teams to successful outcomes.

It’s better but it can be souped up further.

✅ Spearheaded a cross-functional team of 10, executing three strategic software deployments within a year, boosting customer satisfaction from 75% to 90% and securing $2M in client renewals.

  • Detail-Rich: Details team dynamics, project timeline, and results.

  • Impactful Metrics: Links program success to customer/revenue wins.

  • Strategic Value: Connects leadership to business growth.

The resume I used to land my senior program manager role at Figma

The stars represent unique elements I wanted to highlight.

  • Higher level and more impact-driven

  • More focus on key accomplishments

  • Stands out beyond core competencies ex. includes extracurriculars, what makes me different, my personality 😉 

PS Now that I have program management experience under my belt, my focus shifts from “I can do the job” to “Why I’m different”.

Here’s my very first newsletter about ✨ PM-ify your Resume with a winning framework.

It’s an oldie but a goodie and includes an amazingly simple and powerful framework coined by my friend, Logan from his PM Experience Crash Course.

Resume Template Winers (worth $150)

As promised, here are 10 randomly selected winners from this post 🔥.

If your name is listed, please reply back to this email to redeem your code ✅.

Whenever you're ready, there are 3 ways I can help you:

  1. 🎁 Grab your free Pivot to Program Management guide (loved by 1700+) Unlock your actionable guide to Program Management and chart your own path

  2. 💬 Ready to see how I can help you? Schedule an intro call or a 60-minute power hour

  3. 📣 Sponsor this newsletter just hit reply for details and promote yourself to 4300+ subscribers.

Join the conversation

or to participate.