• Path to PM
  • Posts
  • Imposter syndrome is a silent killer

Imposter syndrome is a silent killer

5 tips to beat your inner critic (and change your life).

👋 Hey, it’s Jean!

We’ve kicked off our first PM Accelerator, and my heart is full.

11 students joined to land their next Program Manager role and navigate their imposter syndrome, portray their value, and land a job they deserve.

If you’re interested in working with me, join the waitlist below.

Brought to you by Magical

Focus on work that (actually) matters with Magical's AI productivity app that automates repetitive tasks on any site. This has saved me 5+ hours every week. Try Magical's FREE Chrome extension.

The truth is I struggle with imposter syndrome.

The secret is that I don’t give it power over my actions.

It’s about being aware that it exists but taking action anyway.

Step 1: Recognize your fixed mindset

You might be telling yourself:

  • “I’m not good enough”

  • “I always do X.”

  • “I’m too quiet.”

These are examples of negative self-talk (not rooted in facts).

Step 2: Get Uncomfortable

If you want to improve, you have to do the hard things.

Examples:

  • Want to be a better public speaker? Go give a presentation.

  • Want to be a program manager? Run various projects in your job.

  • Want to be a content creator? Start posting three days a week.

Step 3: Get meaningful feedback

Feedback is the only way to know your shortcomings.

And it doesn’t always come from others; it can come from you.

  • Do a retro at the end of the week

    • What went well? What didn’t go well?

    • What are the learnings for next time?

  • Ask friends and/or colleagues

    • What can I do more of? What can I do less of?

Step 4: Detach your self-worth from work

Those with a growth mindset find sources of self-worth outside of work.

Detach from work and invest in things that align with your values:

  • Relationships

  • Interesting projects

  • Community services

  • Activities that spark joy

Step 5: Reframe by adding “..Yet”

Once you hear your fixed mindset, you can rewire your brain.

By adding “…Yet” you powerfully reframe.

  • “I’m not a great leader…yet”

  • “I’m not in my dream job…yet”

  • “I’m not a very good writer…yet”

Here’s a cheat sheet (save for later).

đź‘‹ Want a copy of this graphic? Grab the free PDF link. Enjoy!

Until next time,

Jean

PS I’m opening up my calendar for one-on-one coaching 🎉.

I can only take on 2 clients in April. If you need help landing your next program manager role (on your terms), book a call now. Check out reviews here 🔥.

Join the conversation

or to participate.