• Path to PM
  • Posts
  • How to deal with pushback effectively and special offer for subscribers only 🎁

How to deal with pushback effectively and special offer for subscribers only 🎁

Navigating difficult stakeholders with grace

Many of you asked me if I could share my project management templates. “What do your project plans look like? What are must-have vs nice-to-haves?”

Well I have exciting news! For the first time ever, I'm sharing my tried and true project management templates with you at a special 50% discount now until November 10th, 11:59 PM PST. As a valued newsletter subscriber and friend, you're the first to know.

Here’s what you get:

  • A detailed Google Doc project plan for both simple and complex projects

  • A creative and visual Figjam snapshot of your project plan, including timelines and tasks

These templates, crafted over 5+ years of managing projects in startups and big tech are now available for you to run any project, initiative, or program confidently.

Grab both templates for just $10 – the price of 2 coffees (one for me and one for you) – before it increases to $20 on the 11th. Plus, if you have any questions, I'm here for you. Don't miss out! ⤵️

Dealing with pushback is one of the most frustrating and hardest things about being a program manager.

Someone always has an opinion. It can feel like they are out to get you. In reality, it’s not like that all.

It’s often due to a lack of alignment - not understanding the why, unclear expectations or something else.

Regardless, you must own the situation and get to the root cause so you can address it (without losing your cool).

Let me share with you an example I dealt with this week.

I was leading a meeting with 10 leaders to align on our 2024 OKRs aka goals for the year (here’s what OKRs are).

As I was sharing expectations for next steps, I had one leader shout:
Jean, I disagree with everything you’re saying”

Okay, can you imagine how I felt? My heart sank. It was embarrassing. I was being called out in front of 9 other leaders including my boss.

But here’s what I ended up doing instead (and what not to do).

PS My boss praised me in the end.

Here’s what not to do

 ❌ “Hey, we had never agreed to that. We can’t do it.”

  • Shows you’re inflexible

  • Shows you’re defensive

  • Doesn’t address the root issue

How I addressed the pushback

“I stand corrected. If all of you agree that this is the path forward, I’m here for it. Here’s what I will do next: X, Y, Z. Any concerns with that?”

  • Demonstrates that I’m solutions-oriented

  • Shows that I’m humble (I don’t need to be right)

  • Bridges broader alignment with my last question - any concerns with that?

Next time you’re in a pickle with a tough stakeholder, take these actions:

  • Take a minute to understand what is the root issue

  • Then address that root issue

  • And create a path forward

Remember, sometimes just owning the situation is the best policy. See what my boss said.

Or check out my other posts here. I write a lot!

Don’t forget to grab my two favorite project plan templates (I use these today as a Senior Program Manager at Figma!)

Who are you :) ?

I'd love to get to know you so I can tailor my content

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Whenever you're ready, there are 3 ways I can help you:

  1. 🎁 Grab your Pivot to Program Management guide (loved by 1500+) Unlock your actionable guide to Program Management and chart your own path

  2. 💬 Ready to see how I can help you? Schedule an intro call or a 60-minute power hour

  3. 📣 Sponsor this newsletter just hit reply for details and promote yourself to 3600+ subscribers.

Join the conversation

or to participate.