• Path to PM
  • Posts
  • How to Answer: "Why Are You Leaving Your Current Job?" | I'm a LinkedIn Instructor 😱

How to Answer: "Why Are You Leaving Your Current Job?" | I'm a LinkedIn Instructor 😱

And personalize your story

Brought to you by Teal

Looking for a job shouldn't be a full-time job. That's where Teal comes in. It's an all-in-one, AI-powered job search platform that helps you tailor your resume, track your applications, optimize your LinkedIn profile, and more, so you can land a job faster. Try Teal Out for Free.

On December 5, something special happened to me.

🎉 Ya girl became an official LinkedIn Learning Instructor! check out my post.

This course goes out to everyone who manages projects and:

  • Wants to drive influence without authority

  • Needs tactics to communicate effectively (and hold people accountable).

  • Struggles with imposter syndrome because of fear of failure (both you and the project).

And here’s the feedback so far:

Plus so many more popping up! My heart is so full. When you re-share, I like to repost with my audience as well. Thank you all 🫶.

Remember, while my advice isn't a one-size-fits-all solution, it's crucial to tailor it to your unique story.

So why do companies even ask this?

  1. To make sure you’e not a problem worker (aka not crazy)

  2. To understand why you’re choosing them > current company

This question really boils down to: Why does this move make sense?

Not just for you, but for THEM as well.

❌ Don’ts:

  • Don’t get personal: Keep your reasons professional and focused on career growth.

  • Never badmouth period: Even if you hated your manager or the work was toxic, just don’t bring it up. It’s not additive.

  • Skip the details: No need to share specifics. 9/10 times no one cares about your reason.

 Do’s:

  • Focus on growth: Talk about your desire for new challenges and opportunities that align with your career goal and personal ambitions.

  • Align with the new role: Focus on what’s in it for them. Frame it as a win-win.

  • Show that you’re excited: Show genuine interest. Paint a picture as to what it’d be like if you were on their team.

Personal example

Here’s how I answered this question to land my role at Figma when I was working at LinkedIn:

"While LinkedIn has been great, I really want to accelerate my growth and time to impact. I’ve had my best moments when I joined hyper-growth startups and naturally had to wore multiple hats. This is where I thrive. Figma is more than a design startup, it has the potential to be the next household name and I’m personally excited to join this rocketship where I get to: chart a brand new role as the very first Ops PM in Product Support and build scalable processes to become best-in-class.”

Your template

"While [current company] has been great, I’m looking for a new challenge where I get to do more of [specific responsibilities to the new role]. This role at [new company] excites me because it aligns perfectly with my skills in [specific skills or experiences] where I can contribute to [specific projects or goals of the new company]."

Community Tips

How have you successfully responded to this question? Share your tips and tricks by hitting reply!

Whenever you're ready, there are 3 ways I can help you:

  1. 🎁 Grab your free Pivot to Program Management guide (loved by 1700+) Unlock your actionable guide to Program Management and chart your own path

  2. 💬 Ready to see how I can help you? Schedule an intro call

  3. 📣 Sponsor this newsletter just hit reply for details and promote yourself to 4300+ subscribers.

Join the conversation

or to participate.