• Path to PM
  • Posts
  • 5️⃣ Reasons why I chose to be a Program Manager

5️⃣ Reasons why I chose to be a Program Manager

(and why you should too)

Brought to you by Teal

Looking for a job shouldn't be a full-time job. That's where Teal comes in. It's an all-in-one, AI-powered job search platform that helps you tailor your resume, track your applications, optimize your LinkedIn profile, and more, so you can land a job faster. Over 450,000 people have turned to Teal to navigate their job search—and you can, too. Get started here.

To be honest, I didn't know I wanted to be a Program Manager until I started doing it. I then became an accidental and self-taught one.

In short, I learned how to be a Program Manager through non-program manager roles (and yes, without a PMP).

If this is your first newsletter, I talk about the 🔥 7 steps I took to pivot to Program Management (and land my dream job at LinkedIn).

1/ Pay

I'll keep it real. I'd be lying if I said I didn't care about compensation. We shouldn't be bashful about this. Companies have to pay to play.

Program Managers can make $120-200K in big tech. This is a rough estimate, and you can find plenty of stats on Glassdoor.

2/ Autonomy

I've always thrived in a role where I have the autonomy to strategize and call the shots. I like to color outside the lines.

And I knew I would be happy and do well in a job where I'm entrusted to lead teams and projects end-to-end.

3/ Connector

Whether in career or life, I'm someone who naturally plays the role of a bridge or connector. I enjoy bringing people together, for example, hosting events and making introductions.

Effective Program Managers must have a holistic lens: What are teams working on? How does it connect to our goals? Which teams need to be roped in?

Great connectors make for great Program Managers.

4/ Never boring

I get bored easily. I've had various roles in Sales, Account Management, and Customer Success, which felt monotonous.

Since becoming a program manager, I'm stretched in new ways. I'm faced with new problems, new teams to work with, and new programs to kick off.

5/ Impact

To me, impact is knowing I'm making a real difference in someone's life. That's why I started posting on LinkedIn and why I created this newsletter. It's to help empower and educate future program managers.

Now, as a program manager, I am bringing order to chaos. I help teams get unstuck, stay focused, and move the needle for the business. Pretty impactful, right?

What do you think? Is PM the right move for you? Let me know (hit reply!)

PS If you enjoyed this, share this newsletter with your friends

What did you think of this issue? I’d love feedback! I reply to each email 🙋🏻‍♀️

Whenever you're ready, there are 3 ways I can help you:

  1. 🎁 Grab your Pivot to Program Management guide (loved by 600+) Unlock the secrets of Program Management with my 20+ page guide

  2. 🚀 Join my 10/10 live Maven cohort, where I teach you PgM fundamentals and equip you with confidence to translate your value and launch your career

  3. 💬 Ready to see how I can help you? Schedule an intro call

The Newsletter Platform Built for Growth

Join the conversation

or to participate.