• Path to PM
  • Posts
  • 4 questions to ask if you're outgrowing your job | Only 3 slots remaining in my cohort 🎉

4 questions to ask if you're outgrowing your job | Only 3 slots remaining in my cohort 🎉

And a really big personal update..

Sponsored by

I only have 3 more slots for my first cohort. We kick off the first class on April 3rd. 

I built this program to give program managers everything they need to land their next PM role (without a PMP certification).

I've pivoted more than 7 times and landed dream roles at companies like LinkedIn, Meta, and now Figma. Now, I want to help others build a fulfilling project management career. I even helped an international client land a Senior PM role at Adidas in 7 weeks. Read my testimonials.

Ready to invest in yourself? Enroll now (payment plans available) or attend my free “How to Land a PM Job in 2024” masterclass next Friday to learn more.

Now, let’s talk about the only four questions I asked before leaving a job.

I’ve had 8 jobs in 9 years.

The truth is I had my reasons every time.

And it's because I dared to ask these questions.

1️⃣ "Am I still growing, learning, and feeling challenged?"

If the answer is no, it's a wake-up call. I exhaust all my resources before giving up. Did I express to my manager I want to take on more projects? Am I asking for feedback and getting the support I need? If not, it’s a red flag.

2️⃣ "Is my environment conducive to my growth?"

Do you have a great team? A supportive manager who pushes you? Is your organization tackling exciting and hairy projects?

If not, it’s another red flag ❌. If you’re in a toxic environment, It’s better to look for a job while you’re still working. Remember to create a checklist of your nonnegotiables so you can map out what you want in your next role. Check out my list here.

3️⃣ "Does the work connect to my values?"

When your values align with your work, you will feel fulfilled even if the work is hard.

If there's a misalignment, it might be time for a change. A company may say "We have a work-life balance” but, in reality, everyone is a workaholic. Choose a company that lives by its values.

4️⃣ "What's my plan if this doesn't work out?"

Give yourself a timeline and reassess as needed.

For example, “I’ll stick this out for the next 6 months doing X, if I see no change I will pivot my strategy to Y”

Remember, you make career moves on YOUR terms. Next time you feel like exploring 'greener pastures'? Ask yourself these questions first. Then make your move.

What do you do? Drop me a response by replying to this email.

PS. I have a big update. I decided to quit my job so I could be a full-time solopreneur. I’m leaving a $200K+ tech job to bet on myself and help others. It’s scary as hell but I’m energized. If you’ve been following me, thank you for supporting me. I’ll be sharing a detailed post on LinkedIn later this week but you hear from me first ❤️.

Until next time 🫶,

Jean

Whenever you're ready, there are 3 ways I can help you:

  1. 📺 Watch my LinkedIn Learning Course all about leading projects more confidently (with greater influence).

  2. 🎁 Grab your free Pivot to Program Management guide (loved by 2000+) Unlock your actionable guide to Program Management and chart your own path

  3. 📣 Sponsor this newsletter and promote yourself to 5300+ subscribers.

We explain the latest business, finance, and tech news with visuals and data. 📊

All in one free newsletter that takes < 5 minutes to read. 🗞

Save time and become more informed today.👇

Join the conversation

or to participate.